Buddha Buddha Buddha Buddha Rockin’ Everywhere

I think … I need to accept the fact that I’m not going to be updating this blog very much. Because I’m only just now getting to posting about my trip to Thailand … this summer.

But in any case, yeah, back to the Buddhas.

Buddhists compose 95% of the Thai population. Needless to say, it wasn’t particularly difficult to find any temples to visit. I’m pretty sure there was one on every other block in Chiang Mai’s old city.

Wat Po was nice. But the only reason I even went was because it’s supposedly the birthplace of Thai massage. I had to wait an hour for a full-body massage but it was so damn hot out and the A/C was very refreshing in the waiting room so I didn’t mind.

The chedis were beautiful.

And there were tons of really ornate, great details and nice paintings.

And of course, tons of Buddhas. Wat Po is known for its larger-than-life Reclining Buddha.

Dem feet.

A lot of temples had long rental pants for people who were too scantily dressed and told to cover up. I was just like:

and took pictures from outside.

There were tons of monks about, billowing around in their flowy orange robes. I ran into a group on a trip to the Three Kings museum in Chiang Mai, and spent the entire time trying to avoid them by running ahead whenever I heard their surprisingly loud chatter. It was stressful.

And I find it interesting that many Thai males get temporarily ordained. Even Nickhun from 2PM did it. Apparently it’s a prerequisite for certain positions and it looks good when it’s time to get married.

But it really annoyed me that the monks REFUSED to look at me. Whenever I greeted any of them, they violently jerked their eyes away.

SO awkward.

SO. Awkward.

Leave a Reply

