Summer Holiday: Korea

Hello hello~ I’m finally back to updating this infernal thing. I’d really love to say that I don’t know what I do with all my free time that I never go on Facebook, Gmail, or WordPress, but that’d be an utter lie. I spend all my evenings either eating out and/or watching TV shows while simultaneously reading or translating manga/hwa.

My summer holiday was amazing. It was nice being back in Korea and seeing all my friends living there, and it was such a relief to be able to understand people again. AND I could read everything! EVERYTHING! Not that I understood all the things I was reading but damnit, I could read it all. Kanji can seriously just go curl up and die somewhere, preferably alone. And on fire.

Of course I made a stop at the Hello Kitty Café, as per tradition.

… And had a Baskin’ Robbins cake.

A water bottle popped in my bag and I had to dry all my money. I tried to do this:

But all the won just beelined to the floor instead of gently fluttering down.

I miss having easy access to Korean-Chinese food so much. Jjajangmyun! Tangsooyook! My beloved, now into eternity!

This is supposedly only 4 servings of chicken … right.

I just love Korea.  I love the countless cafes, the fact that young people are actually aware of foreign pop culture, the super cheap BBQ joints, the hordes of people walking around tracks at night, and even the hunt for things in my size.  I love being automatically recognized as a Korean, eating at street stalls late at night, taking cabs everywhere without paying a small fortune, and feeling invincible.

I can’t wait to go back.

I plan to go every year for the rest of my life.

2 thoughts on “Summer Holiday: Korea

Leave a Reply

